top of page


Deathnir (pronounced "death near")

Deathnir was originally formed in 2013 with members Drew Carter (Vocals/Guitar) Adam Johnson (Bass) Rey Benher (lead guitar) and Andrew Wild (drums). The inspiration that began Deathnir was a fascination with Norse history and mythlogy which came from Johnson and Carter's viking ancestry, as well as a love for 80s thrash metal. Deathnir competed in their first battle of the bands competition within months of its creation and ranked as semi-finalists. Shortly afterwards the first Deathnir EP was released. 

Wild left the band in early 2014 and Matt Mooney was recruited as his replacement. Benher left shortly afterwards. Since then the band has performed across their nation and were awarded the 'passionate performance award' in the National Battle of the Bands Championship in 2014.

During 2015 Deathnir recorded and released their debut LP titled "Die By The Axe", during which Mooney departed. The drums on the album were tracked by session musician Tom Meslager. Shortly after the release of DBTA the band was joined by Luke Elliot on drums and Brad Ion on lead guitar. Carter briefly held a position as a TV presenter for a music show called Zee Rock and the group started getting their music videos aired on television. Deathnir toured the DBTA album during the infamous 2016 September Onslaught Tour and released their second LP ' Second Sin' on May 25th 2018.


Elliot and Ion left the band in late 2018. Elliot was replaced by Raana Paterson on drums and Grant Holden was contracted as lead guitar for Deathnir's tour of South China at the end of 2018. The adventure to China went well and a full fledged tour was organized for the following year when Holden left to pursue his own music and Ion rejoined. The 2019-2020 Guangxi tour was a success but shortly after returning home COVID-19 hit and all touring plans were suspended. 

Back at home Deathnir performed with the world renowned Alien Weaponry and then at a few New Zealand music festivals

throughout 2020-2021 while working on a third album.

Current Members:


Drew Carter - Vocals, Guitar

Adam Johnson - Bass, Backing Vocals

Raana Paterson - Drums

Brad Ion - Guitar, Backing Vocals

Past Members:

Rey Benher - Lead Guitar (2013 - 2014)

Andrew Wild - Drums (2013 - 2014)

Matt Mooney - Drums (2014 - 2015)

Luke Elliot - Drums (2015 - 2018)

Brad Ion - Lead Guitar (2016 - 2018, Present)

Grant Holden - Lead Guitar ( Late 2018 - Early 2019)


Management and Bookings:

You can contact Deathnir directly through the official facebook page 

Or you can email Deathnir at

Anchor 1

Left to Right: Adam Johnson, Drew Carter, Brad Ion, Raana Paterson

bottom of page